>Haiku, River of Stones, And Confession

>Every Wednesday, Jenn from You know……that blog? hosts the Sensational Haiku Wednesday. This week’s theme is deception. Here’s my entry for the week:

do not be deceived
by the stillness of their forms
now they simply rest
forces of nature 
tiny little juggernauts
miniscule tempests
children tend to live
passionately in the now
beware when they wake
*******************************************

Fiona Robyn and Kaspa are hosting the writing project known as A River of Stones. The object is to make daily observations of things that can be observed in everyday life. For more information, click here.

Here’s my observation:

The snow lay in dirty piles at the edge of the road, forgotten, used up, and discarded.

********************************************

I know I haven’t been around yet to visit. I will be. This week has been busier than I expected. No reading. No mailing. Not even housework. I did manage to cook a meal. Just one. Sigh…..
I’m working on it, though. Promise!
About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on January 19, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. >How true and what a wonderful photo!

  2. >I love the Haiku, so correct 🙂 Peace, we will be here and I've had the same sort of week. Yeah, cooked 1 meal 🙂Jules @ Trying To Get Over The Rainbow

  3. >The haiku is great but I really, really, really like your observation. I always feel that way about snow… poor discarded snow. I swear I'd love you if you only stayed untainted and beautiful. ( I feel like there's a lesson in there….)

  4. >Really beautiful haiku, serene and thoughtful. I like the observation too.

  5. >Beautiful haiku!I love your observation.

  6. >Truly lovely haiku, thank you. And your observation is *looks out window* perfect.

  7. >LOL, beware when they wake! I enjoyed this read. thanks for posting!

  8. >Great haiku, thanks for sharing! So true, too. May your coming week be a little less hectic!

  9. >*Carol-glad you liked it!*Jane-thank you!*Jules-I'd like to have one of the OTHER weeks, you know, where everything runs smoothly and I accomplish LOADS and have all the spare time I need. Or is that a fictional concept?*Melissa-thanks. And now, you've got me trying to figure out how to make an analogy out of it….*Margo-thanks. And it's only serene for about 1.5 hours :P*Golden Eagle-thank you!*VR-yeah…it's kind of sad, too….*Summer-we have some that get right off their beds at full speed. I wish I could bottle their energy and sell it. I'd be stinkin' rich!*Carol-oh, thank you. Me, too!

  10. >Nice post. I'm not good with short and sweet or even bitter. But I enjoy reading everyone else's and yours, I think, is the best today.NancyN. R. Williams, fantasy author

  11. >beautiful Haiku…

  12. >nicely said… and do beware em when they awake, b :O lolmy own 3 are in their 20s, and i still shudder! my wip is no longer whimpering for attention, it's now screaming… guess i'd best attend to it, even at the expense of other minutiae, like blogging! :O lolmay have to limit that considerably… wip's been waiting at least 3 – 5 years….

  13. >I love your beautiful haiku. It perfectly describes children but as I read it I realized it also describes my little brood of feral kittens too, LOL!Great observation, it describes our driveway about two weeks ago.

  14. >I love the haiku. That's my experience too!

  15. >Love the poem. So true. Children are so lovely when they're sleeping, so still, their faces appearing years younger. I love looking at my own children sleep. And sometimes I try to picture what my students look like when they slumber.

  16. >Very interesting take on the haiku prompt! 🙂

  17. >That observation is beautiful. I couldn't really relate to the thoughts expressed in your lovely haiku since my daughters were always so perfectly behaved (snicker).LeeTossing It Out

  18. >Gorgeous! This is /not/ my strength, so I really admire those who can write it. (Also, you may have only cooked one meal, but I hope you ate more than one!)

  19. >You always have such sweet posts. I love coming by for my dose of comfort………dhole

  20. >Interesting take on the theme. Sorry I missed this on Weds, I had a bad back :O)

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

