>Top Ten Countdown Music Blogfest….A Day Late!

>

Alex stopped by yesterday and said I could still post my top ten music list. Ain’t he the sweetest?!!!

The only problem is….I ADORE music. All kinds of it. And what I listen to depends on my mood. Still, I did manage to narrow it down to just ten. It was difficult and I may need therapy, but I did it.

I picked songs that, no matter what, bring a smile to my face. They make me close my eyes and go somewhere else. They do it to me. In no particular order, here they are:

 Rambling Gambling Man – Bob Seger
Because it’s straight up rock-funk. I prefer the original version when he was very young
 In Your Eyes – Peter Gabriel
Because it’s beautiful. I prefer the live version; it showcases various talents. And I never want the song to end.
 Living For The City & Uptight (yeah, I cheated) – Stevie Wonder
Because I grew up with Stevie. These are only two of many I could have picked. Besides, I always cheat on these kinds of things. You would have been disappointed if I hadn’t….
 Do Ya – ELO
Because it has a part in the middle that I just go bonkers for. Since I was a teenager. 
 He Reigns – Newsboys
I love the words and how the music adds such drama. And it’s very upbeat.
 Ray of Light – Madonna
Because when no one is looking, this is a song I can spaz-dance to. And at the end, she sounds like she’s having a fun time.
 Wonderful – Adam Ant
Because he wrote this after coming out about being bi-polar and could see more clearly. It’s about regret. And it’s beautiful. He still struggles….
(When I was a teen and he wore all the costumes and war paint, I was ga-ga over him!)
 She Sells Sanctuary – The Cult
I love the darkness of Cult and this song is, to me, an in your face flip-off. It’s an upbeat sort of song, to be kinda dark. I’ve loved it for years and years.
 In The Mood (For a Melody) – Robert Plant
Because, well, have you ever listened to it?!!!!! If you haven’t, I suggest you youtube it and listen. Eyes closed.  The video doesn’t match the song AT ALL. That voice…..ahhhhhhh……

Bad – Live – U2
Because it’s a beautiful song and this live version really showcases Edge’s talent. 
Love that dude. If I had a bucket full of wishes, one would be to play as well as he does…..
HONORABLE MENTIONS:
Goo Goo Dolls – Without You Here
Yes – Lift Me Up and The Calling
Robert Plant – If I Were A Carpenter
Loreena McKennitt – The Mummer’s Dance
The Verve – Bittersweet Symphony
Eddie Money – She Takes My Breath Away
B-Tribe – She Moves Through The Fair
About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on January 25, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. >Bob Seiger, ELO and Madanna; boy do those take me back. So many good songs I couldn't post post either. But this has sure been fun. I'm glad you joined us Becky……….dhole

  2. >Well you had some I forgot πŸ™‚ I saw the ELO tour where they were sued for canned music, still was a great show πŸ˜€Jules @ Trying To Get Over The Rainbow

  3. >In Your Eyes is one of my faves, too. I've loved reading all the lists.

  4. >She Sells Santuary is my favorite Cult song! And I really like the Gabriel tune as well. Excellent list! Worth the wait.

  5. >I had to pass on Alex's Blogfest because there was no way I could narrow down my collection down to just 10 songs, but while I was at the gym yesterday I heard DO YA come over the sound system and I thought to myself that would have been one of those 10 and I doubt that anybody else would have picked that one.Thank you for proving me wrong. πŸ™‚

  6. >That WAS nice of Alex to give you an extra day! You've got some artists I really like, but songs I don't know, which is sort of a funny combo to me. great list!

  7. >A good list and some personal favourites of mine.Yvonne.

  8. >I have many fond memories of dancing to She Sells Sanctuary, and also love Stevie Wonder (Living for the City / Superstition – oh so many to choose from). My fave ELO song is probably a toss up between Horace Wimp and My Blue Sky – not heard of this one, will check it out!

  9. >I've only heard of a few of these, so I'll have to check out the rest of them!

  10. >OMG, I love "She Sells Sanctuary" soooo much! Thanks for the list, I am checking out some of the other songs πŸ™‚

  11. >Great list. There are just too many great songs. And that is the great marvel. Melody and words.

  12. >I sort of hate to admit it, but I really do love "Ray of Light" by Madonna. It's got such a great beat. You can't be in a bad mood when that song's playing.

  13. >Oh, what a fun list! Love the Adam Ant addition. I'll bet it was tough narrowing down to 10, but you did a great job.

  14. >This is a great list – I'd forgotten about that Adam Ant song, it's lovely. Bad was the first U2 song I ever heard, and I've loved the band ever since.

  15. >I LOVE your list!! In fact, we share a couple of the same top 10 (Peter Gabriel's In Your Eyes, for example.) And I LOVE Adam Ant and the Cult. Our taste is very similar. πŸ™‚

  16. >Oh my gosh..I love so many of these songs!! good work!

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

