>I Been Bad. Gotta Be Gooder Now……

>

Ah, my bloggy friends. I’ve been a bad girl. Sigh…..

With all that’s been going on the last two or three weeks, I’ve regressed. I’ve been drinking sodas. Many, many sodas. With caffeine. And eating really bad for me foods. And snacks. Emotional/stress eating. It’s a hard habit to break.

But now, I’ve got no choice. Went to the doctor. Got another bad case of strep (thank you parents, for sending your sick children to school and masking fevers with Motrin and Tylenol. A clue – they tell us pretty much everything about their lives!).

And this time, the doc said I need to do something about my BP. That’s cool. It takes away my wiggle room. No more excuses. No more procrastination. No more. Period.

I’m doing the same thing a co-worker is doing. She’s giving herself a specific amount of time to do something about her situation. She, like me, doesn’t want to go on meds……

This is a result of my lifestyle; my choices. I cut out sodas last year and dropped 10 points of my BP. Watch me do better than that.  I’m pretty good with deadlines. Still, it doesn’t hurt to have some accountability. Gotta work that out somehow.

So, for the meantime, you’ll see me here and there till I get this figured out. Right now, I’m gonna take a Zithromax and find something to eat. That’s as unsalty as possible.

Hope your week has been a good one!

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on January 27, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 34 Comments.

  1. >I'm a stress eater, too. I was doing really well, but in recent weeks…not. We can do this thing. Take care of yourself and I will, too.

  2. >oh no… hope you get better soon! i usually have some hot honey lemon drink to make me feel better. sending you hugs!!!

  3. >*Tricia-I wonder what it's been lately. Everyone seems stressed! Yes, we can do this!!!!*Carla-that sounds really soothing. Thanks for the hugs!

  4. >I really hope that you can beat this!!! In fact I know you can!!!I'm a terrible stress eater, and caffienated beverages are on my list of things!!! It stinks, but those are the facts.Those are things I DO want to change about myself.

  5. >Take care! I'm not a soda drinker but I love coffee–morning, noon and night. Best,Bonnie

  6. >I'm an eater too but my demon is cholesterol. I need exercise. Wish I could run with my laptop but I fear that would be in the same category as scissors πŸ™‚Jules @ Trying To Get Over The Rainbow

  7. >I cut my soda down to one a day in the mornings before noon. Doesn't help the middle-of-the-afternoon-slump but it does help me sleep. Don't know about the BP. Of course, with the weather being what it is doesn't help with stress levels either.Take a nap, you'll feel better.

  8. >I'm so sorry to hear about the blood pressure! (and the strep). I really wish you a TON of luck with the lifestyle changes. i haven't stuck with any of my fitness resolutions at all, so maybe it is time for me to join your quest. i am going to give myself a Feb 1 start because I am a big baby on the weekend, so that's a bad time to start, but I'M IN!

  9. >Take care of yourself and get healthy.

  10. >Oh, Words Crafter,I am so sorry to hear of you sickness. I have blood pressure too. I have a stronger med because I put on too much weight. As much as I love writing I put on twenty pounds since I started. Not good. Like you I need to kick my butt into gear.Feel better. Know you're not alone.Michael

  11. >So sorry to hear you have been ill. I hope you feel better soon! Sending you positive vibes via blogging land for every success as you begin your new regime!

  12. >So sorry to hear about your BP, and strep can really bring you down. Wishing you better asap.

  13. >I found myself downing the carbs this week. My body just can't handle it and the scale goes up immediately. Not fun when you're trying to lose..Get well soon!

  14. >you can do it, b…i call it: FOODICATION… my way of coping with stress 😦

  15. >I just wanted to take a moment and thank you all for your wonderful support. It means a lot to me. You made me smile. You take care of yourselves, too!

  16. >Hey Girlfriend, you can do it!! I found a new way of eating (well, actually it's not so new, just new for me), gave up fast food and cokes (which I had become REaddicted to last year), and so far am amazed. I'll tell you more in an email if you're interested.Good for you for taking control! that rebel, Olivia

  17. >Well done for focusing on the problem! I had to make changes to my diet to avoid risks with my family history, and I know it's one of those things that you need some momentum with. You'll feel better the longer you do it–avoiding meds won't be the only benefit! We'll be cheerleading (and keeping you accountable if it's helpful!)

  18. >WC- The past year I've been dealing with high cholesterol and a broken thyroid. It is so frustrating to have these issues! UGH! It doesn't help that I too am an emotional eater but the one thing is I am not a soda drinker. An occasional Diet Dr. Pepper, but I realized with this I need to do a better job in taking care of myself…it sounds like you are at that point. YES, our children give us everthing, but if our body's are not strong enought to fight it all off, then something has got to give…Cheering you on as you embark upon a healthier lifestyle…

  19. >Poor you with strep throat. If it's a wakeup call to take better care of yourself, I hope your BP goes down.Mine went from always being 110 over 70 to 130 over 80. I found out in the fall, so I wonder if it's the job.Take care of yourself!

  20. >Good luck with your BP battle! Self-discipline and resolve will be your allys, it is totally a struggle you can win! πŸ™‚

  21. >Good luck with all that! I took the BP meds the last five years of working in Corporate America. Since I wasn't really a 'stress eater'…I attributed it to just 'stress'.I opted to give up the meds and the doctors after I 'retired'…for one thing, I couldn't really afford either.I'm just leaving it in the hands of the Good Lord. That's one 'prescription' I can afford:)

  22. >Awwww…. I'm so sorry. Stress can really play havoc on your blood pressure, too!Take care of yourself! And just try to make changes little by little.Hugs and healing,Jenny

  23. >Ah, good for you for being so determined about fixing this! Take it easy, good luck de-stressing. Our bodies have a way of reminding us they're in charge, don't they? I very rarely drink sodas; I don't like carbonation. Although talking about food is making me hungry. Lunchtime! Happy weekend.

  24. >I was bad the other day too. Although, my version of "bad" involved a couple of steak dinners, a bottle of Jack, and several strippers.I think this means that I win.

  25. >Well, we're all human. Glad you're addressing it and that it's all sorted out soon.

  26. >Last year I dropped 31 pds with weight watchers. It was easy, just one to two pounds per month. Their point system is much easier than counting calories. I made life healthier. Even if you don't want to lose weight, I'd recommend them just to learn the tricks of a healthy lifestyle.NancyN. R. Williams, fantasy author

  27. >…sorry to hear of your illness:( My wife runs a daycare, often experiencing the same issues, parents dropping off children who's complexion resembles the color of snow coating our back yard. And a week later…our entire family's down with "The Bug." Irritating, indeed.Hang in there…believe it or not, spring will return!EL

  28. >Oh don't I know it. I can empathise. I was a good girl this morning and then regressed by the evening! And I'm supposed to be exercising to strengthen my back muscles as I have a weakness there and I somehow don't get around to it! Good luck with returning to the regime :O)

  29. >Stress is a harsh mistress. BP is constantly lurking over my own shoulder, asking me if this particular problem is worth dying over?My own cold has wiped me out for the past two weeks, robbing me of vitality and creativity and strength … hence my lack of presence here in your blog and those of other friends.You can cut down sodas (another weakness we both share) and tell yourself the truth about the mountains in your life : they will always be there and surviving them is all of scaling them intelligently and without letting our fears get the best of us. Take better care of yourself, Roland

  30. >Oh my friend…how I now and understand the need to walk on the wild side…seems many of us dive into the cookie jar, or the potato chip bag at times of stress…. or savor a too big bowl of ice cream… We just can't abuse our bodies now like we did when we were young and stupid… I KNOW you will lick this. I KNOW you will do better than 10 points. There comes a time when it "clicks" and we do understand the meaning of portion control…and making other choices for our cravings and frustrations.In my quest to see lower numbers on the scale…if I want something which is "bad" for me…I do some quick walking around the block or dance in place….and if I still want it…I take a small portion (100 calories tops) and then S-A-V-O-R it and make it last….Hang in there…I know you will succeed on your mission. hugs to you!!!

  31. >There are no secrets when it comes to children. They spill everything! Hope you're feeling well soon; take care of yourself.

  32. >Hoping you get better soon! I have a 4.5 mile circuit I walk to help stay healthy. Staying at the PC too long is not good.

  33. >Oh, I'm so sorry you are sick. Make sure you take your Z, because you don't want to mess around with strep…it can move to your kidneys etc.As for diet…oh man do I relate. I love my food and caffeine. Why is the best tasting food the worst for us? WHYYYYY?! I need my sugar and carbs and salty, crunchy treats. *sigh* I wish you well on your quest for a healthy life.Get well hugs,Lola

  34. >I am rootin' for you. You can do anything you set your mind to. I do hope your throat is better. Have a great day. Blessings…Mary

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

