>Health Update

>

It says it’s a funny snowman, but he looks a bit deranged to me. My husband found it and sent it to me. Ever since Calvin and Hobbes, I’ve love demented snowman pictures.

What’s my point? Well, this winter has been pretty brutal. January especially. And I had been doing so well….

With a plethora of stresses bearing down on me, I fell back on some bad habits, as I mentioned previously. I added it all up. In just part of the month, I estimate drinking at least 50 cans of Pepsi, 4 2-litres, and eating as many as 3 pizzas in about 12 days. Among all the other fast food lunches I won’t bother to mention. I have cooked a few good meals, but that’s only a drop in the bucket of junk I’ve consumed. And yeah-boy-howdy did it show up.

I mentioned that my BP was up. Wanna know what it was? Are you sitting down? 178 over 130. Yeah……not to great, huh?

Well, I’ve followed through with the Zithromax faithfully. Consumed absolutely no caffeine (sipped on some Sprite, though. Sipped.). Eaten practically no salt. Lots of fresh fruits, juice, and only the smallest meals with meats totaling no more than 250mg of sodium. I got to get some recipes!

I’ve done really well. So, why has my head hurt so badly that it literally has prevented me from sleeping the last three days? If I managed to actually doze off, the pain would wake me right up. I wanted to cry, but that only made it worse. I was worried it would cause my BP to spike even further up the scale. So, Honey made me an appointment (the one the urgent care doctor wanted me to make anyway) with my regular doctor, and drove me – three days, no sleep….yeah, I’m not getting behind the wheel of a car.

Here’s the news. Since today is the last day of my meds, and I’m still showing various symptoms, she had me tested for flu. Came up negative, but she didn’t like that I was still running a fever. We’ll see in a day or so.

I’m not allowed to return to work because of the fever, and because Medea has been diagnosed with the flu. Dang.

The headache, she strongly feels, is a combination of cold turkey caffeine withdrawal and BP. Sounds about right. She did prescribe me a pain med for tension headaches and it’s shaved a few points off of it.

I’m to return in a month. For a check up. And I went home without any BP meds. Why? Because it was only 142 this time. Yep, it dropped 36 points, to even lower than before. She wants to see how far I can bring it down on my own. So do I. I gotta tell you, I was relieved. Big time.

On a side note, two and a half years ago, I had pneumonia and was given Prednisone and Levaquin. I took them together shortly before going to bed and woke up thinking I was having a massive coronary. I was terrified. The next night, I took the pills separately and far apart. It was much better, so I finished them out. Ever since then, my BP has been elevated. And a few months ago, I swear I saw something on TV about Levaquin not being good for you…..all that to say this: if you get prescribed Levaquin, look into it first.

So anyway, I just wanted to let all of you know I was doing better (thank you so much for all your thoughtful words) and bring you up to speed with the BP. I’m whipped, wimpy, and sluggish, but also thankful and relieved. Alas, no more cheeseburgers or pizza. I’ll find a way to still have ziti, spaghetti, and chicken parmesan, though. Watch me =P

Hope you’re having a great, and HEALTHY week!

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on January 31, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 27 Comments.

  1. >I'm glad things are better. I have bp. I don't think about it at all. My mother has it too and she is almost 90.If you need to stop for fast food, get grilled chicken, no fries and I love unsweetened ice tea. That was one of my weight loss tricks.Thank you for you kind words about my book.NancyN. R. Williams, fantasy author

  2. >That's all very scary. Please do take care of yourself, and get really well really soon.

  3. >…hang in there, Hon. Funny thing about them Z-Packs…you get five pills, one a day, and nothing more. But it can take several days of inner turmoil before them pills can hammer out the bug. (A house full of kids and germs…yeah, we know our meds:)Keep smiling, you'll get through this.EL

  4. >HI, Words,You're doing great getting off the bp meds. I wish I could, With my excess weight I can't. I have to drop 30 pounds. I live in Chicago and I don't leave the house unless I have to go somewhere important. I need to work out, but I'd rather write. Not good.I admire you. You are doing great. Keep up the good work and you will be better very soon.We are all here for you.Michael

  5. >Sounds like you are on your way to healthy!!! Get well soon…

  6. >Good grief, girl. I'm sorry you've been so sick. Keep on taking good care of yourself!

  7. >Oh my goodness, that was a high blood pressure. I hope you feel better soon and take good care of yourself!

  8. >Glad you're feeling better. As soon as I read about your headache, I wondered if it was from the caffeine withdrawals. I had them baaaad when I quite coffee cold turkey. The only thing that could come close to touching it was Excedrin Migraine, and it contains a good dose of caffeine. I eventually had to wean myself off. Still tough, but better than cold turkey.Good luck with your BP!

  9. >I am so proud of you shaving so many points off your BP by diet alone. But caffine cold turkey is hard when you're well, much less when hit by this cold or flu that is going around.I've had it for 3 weeks now, and I'm just now pulling out of it. But I went a week without going to see a doctor. I have a phobia about those folks. Take care. You are in my prayers, Roland

  10. >Oh my goodness… I'm so sorry to hear that you were sick… I'm glad you're better now though and you were able to bring down the BP.Just make sure you take it easy, and try to eat as healthy as you can… I know it's hard, but you can do it 🙂

  11. >Please take care of yourself. My thoughts are with you!

  12. >Glad to hear you are getting the bp under control. I do know caffine withdrawals can cause severe headaches, one of the reason's I don't give up coffee. Hope you are feeling better very soon. I love the lolcat!

  13. >Wow, sounds like you've been having quite a time of it. Way to go on getting your BP down, that's fantastic. Hope the headaches subside and that you feeling better soon. Big hug.

  14. >withdrawing forn caffeine cold turkey like that will definitely bring on a nasy effing headache. And me and prednisone don't get along well together either. I won't take it anymore. Hope you get feeling better soon 🙂

  15. >Again, thank you, everyone for your concern and thoughtfulness. And your encouragement. I'm finding it difficult to find semi-ready meals without a ton of sodium, which means I'll be cooking a lot from scratch. Yay 😦 Still, I gotta do what I gotta do and who knows? I may even learn to like cooking more….Anyway, I just wanted to let you all know you're the best, thanks!

  16. >Thinking of you. Stay in bed, keep cozy. Monster Child has been home sick for the last 5 days. Finally she presented enough snot so I could take her to get her meds.Sorry about the headaches. Cold turkey will do that. But keep up the good work. I still haven't forgotten we have to meet up at some point. I want you well.

  17. >I very much hope you start to feel better soon. Look after yourself. Hugs

  18. >That is a GREAT blood pressure drop! Good for you! Sorry it is punishing you as it goes with the headaches, though! I hope you get well quickly and can maintain the lower BP without the meds!

  19. >Paw U, You really sound in the wars! Virtual hugs and kisses.My back has been taking ages to recover and I realised the new mattresses we'd bought weren't helping, so hubby gallantly swapped them over to see if his side feels more comfortable for me. Isn't that so sweet! I've been getting referred pain in my rib where I cracked it on the edge of the desk after a mad and unusual bout of spring cleaning last year and so went to have it checked out this morning to make sure it wasn't anything more sinister. The GP reassured me it wasn't. After being awake most of the night worrying about things I had a nap this afternoon which has helped a little. :O)

  20. >It sounds like you are on the mend. It is awfully good to hear your BP is back in the normal range. Rest up. Take care and have a good night. Blessings…Mary

  21. >It is great to hear your bp has gone down but seems that you are still not out of the woods. Please stop with the fast food and Pepsi (can't you convince yourself to hate it – like I do, and Coke, and all softdrinks…)Looking forward to better news. Please look out for yourself and soon you'll be back at work.Take careDenise:)

  22. >Hope things turn around quickly and you can get back to work. Stay away from those Pepsis and pizzas. Easier said than done, I know.

  23. >Oh yes, much better blood pressure. My husband has the same whomping headache prob if he goes w/o caffeine. He's down to a 1/2 cup per day but can't seem to do totally w/o it. Hope you feel better soon!

  24. >Definitely withdrawl from caffeine. Have you been drinking regular Pepsi? Not even Diet? Yep…that would explain the headaches.Drink lots of water to flush yourself out. Water is the best and only way to clean and flush your kidneys and system. Caffeine and salt make you hold water, so the drinking of water will rid you of excess water held in your tissues.Have oatmeal with cinnamon and chopped up apples on top. Eat fruits and veggies. Get 8 hours of sleep. Do you have a pet? Hold it and love on it…it helps to lower the BP.Hang in there…be gentle and good to yourself. I am sending more healing thoughts your way… (((HUGS)))

  25. >good to know you're improving, b :)i'm on meds for high bp AND ldl cholesterol, so know a bit about em….

  26. >Glad you are feeling better…good luck with the recipes and swearing off junk food:)

  27. >Trust me I understand! I have drank more coffee, tea and pepsi for energy this winter than I did all last year. And pizzas are so easy when you've been gone 11 hours or so and come home to a cold house after a cold LONG drive home. So glad you are feeling/doiong better!!!BTW that snowman picture was creepy! but the cat one was hilarious!! :-)Hope you're having a Wonderful & Warm weekend!!HUGS,Coreen xoxoxo

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

