>You Got Some Skills? Wanna Share ‘Em?

>

I have a question for all you savvy bloggers out there. Many of you have, in the past, created awards, buttons, headers, etc. My question is this: how? 

I wanted to use Print Shop, but in the fine print, it says I can’t. Not for online use. Unless it’s a photo of mine that’s been altered using their stuff.

A friend and I were talking about this on Saturday, and we’ve decided that inquiring minds want to know.

I’d love to know how to create a new header. I’d also love to know how to create an award. Drawing in graffiti is difficult and time consuming. I don’t have photoshop and paint is a pain in the nether regions. (I hate paint!) I’ve actually considered creating tags with scrapbooking materials and photographing them, then posting them for whatever I need.

Is there an easier way? I’m decent on the ‘puter, but I don’t have a clue about this. Anyone care to share some tips?

Also, be sure to check out L’Aussie Writing today. She’s continuing her Publication Party and N. R. Williams will be discussing her path to publication. There’s also prizes involved. For that info, click here.

Happy Tuesday, ya’ll!

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on February 15, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. >I use a program called Paint Shop Pro, which I actually prefer to to Photoshop for most things, and which is significantly less expensive. You can usually even buy previous versions on e-bay. I still use version 7 personally, and it does me fine.As far as source graphics, there are websites out there which include royalty-free and stock pictures you can sometimes use as source material if you don't want to take your own pictures.

  2. >When I saw the term savvy blogger I knew I wasn’t going to be any help. Sorry. But I'm interested in learning, so I’ll check back later when those with the know-how have a chance to comment.

  3. >Big dumb dumb here. I can work my computer. Does that SPEAK volumes about my savvyness? *wink*I want to know though. So I'LL BE BACK. (said that in my Arnold voice.)

  4. >I use Picasa to make my headers. You can specify, to the pixel, what size your header needs to be, and then there are fun, but easy, ways to play with color, saturation, high/lowlight, etc. And then you can put in your text–what I've done is find free font downloads online and gotten ones that I think are fun. Once you've put these into your system, you can use them on your header. The best part of all is that Picasa is free. 🙂

  5. >i can design stuff 4u, i use photoshop cs3… my images come from all over…

  6. >Awwwww …. it doesn't get much cuter than two fuzzy little bunnies kissing. Thanks. Now I feel all warm and gushy inside.

  7. >I use adobe photoshop and I get my images from:dreamstime.comGood luck!

  8. >I use Photobucket.com to find images (although, if that fails, I Google public domain images and look through the sites that come up) and Picnik.com to edit them, most of the time; there are also many other editing services like Splashup.com and Lunapic.com–LunaPic allows you to combine images and add all kinds of effects/animations.

  9. >I wish I had something to add. I use a few of those sites.Good luck, Becky.Michael

  10. >I've Adobe Photoshop is good as well.. good luck! 🙂

  11. >I've *heard*… sorry!

  12. >*Wow. Blogger ate my reply! Anyway…thank you all for your comments and helpful suggestions. I wrote down Paint Shop Pro and want to look for it (thanks, C. N.!). I also want to see about Photoshop. Both of these, it seems, are pretty great to work with. I ended up getting an image from morguefile.com and editing it in picnik through picasa (thanks Summer and Golden Eagle!). Again, thanks for being so very helpful! I would never have found any of the things I used without you all!!!

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

