>Good Times? Kinda – Sorta – Maybe….

>

 Wow, I’m way behind! It’s been an eventful week so far….

Monday, our area was under a severe thunder storm warning and a tornado watch. Good times….

I’m sure you’ve driven through gusty winds and felt your car shift. Well, I felt my car get lifted! As I left work for home, I drove right through the storm and the wind was so powerful that I could feel my car being slightly lifted and blown to the left. I’ve never been so afraid while driving, wow! And the rain was blinding, but, fortunately, it passed quickly.

Mostly, we just had a lot of small debris all over the place and some very minor flooding. The storm did, however, knock out our internet for a whole day. It came back on early this morning. YAY!!!!

In other news, it’s March now. Duh! you might say. Well, in our daycare center, March is a super big deal. This is Dr. Seuss week, which means a week of funny stories, weird fashion choices, and a Jammies Day on Friday. And, since tomorrow, the 2nd, is Dr. Seuss’ birthday, we’re going to have a small celebration. I have to pick up something in the morning…..note to self….

March also ushers in my favorite ‘magical thinking’ holiday – St. Patrick’s Day. Our Director and Assistant Director play ‘leprechaun’ tricks in all the classrooms. And the fun has already started! I’ll do a post later, complete with pics of one of their new, um….concoctions: leprechaun boogers! CRAZY!!!! You know, I work with some truly disturbed creative and demented fun people =P

Tonight, everyone stayed after work because it was time for our re-certification in SIDS, First Aid, and CPR. Our public health nurse is a hoot and she totally knows her stuff, which means we learn and have a good time.

Hopefully, the rest of the week will be more normal and I’ll be able to get some things crossed off my out of control To Do List.

Till then, I hope you all are having a great week and don’t forget to stop and check out the giveaway post!

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on March 2, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. >They say if March comes in like a lion, it leaves like a lamb — something to look forward to. I will get to your delightful, insightful questions as soon as I can. I am still at work. Sigh. Work is sometimes a real 4 letter word! LOL. Roland

  2. >Oh my goodness. You felt your car get lifted??? I may have died.

  3. >Crazy weather, crazy world events–it looks like Charlie Sheen is one of the few voices of sanity left in the world. It's been so chilly here in L.A. that I've been wearing my long johns. Weird!LeeTossing It Out

  4. >Kids love Dr Seuss. My daughter is dressing up as Thing 2, for World Book Day. I've got some sewing to do.

  5. >Wow, the car/storm incident sounds very scary.I’ve loved Dr Seuss for years and didn’t realize our birthdays were so close together.

  6. >Yes, today is Wacky Wednesday in school and MOnster Child said her outfit wasn't wacky enough. Flowered pants, striped shirt, cowboy boots and a fluroscent ski hat? Believe me, I won't be taking her out to the market in it.I did get my car lifted once when I lived in Nevada by a dust devil. Scar-ee. My back yard flooded again and there's no putting off digging the trench this year.

  7. >I had the same storms Monday. Just like you the week is still grabbing and trying to sway me in all directions. I think I need to throw an anchor 🙂Jules @ Trying To Get Over The Rainbow

  8. >Ha! Thanks for the heads up on Dr. Suess's birthday! I totally would have missed it! Hope your week settles down!

  9. >How scary! I'm glad you made it home okay! Leprechauns – I was teaching City Wildlife yesterday. I asked the class "What do owls eat?" A little boy said, "Leprechauns?" I said, "Nope. They can't catch them." 🙂

  10. >Ahhh, the Ides of March…Have fun with all the activities; we are so limited in what we are able to do that isn't 'curriculum-related' UGH!!!

  11. >*Roland-it would suit me if all the months behaved the whole rest of the year!!!*Melissa-yeah….it was a little scary %^}*Lee-so, where can we go to get some normalcy? Long johns in LA…you're right, that's weird!*Deborah-I bet she's going to be adorable!!!!*Blogger Formerly Known As-so, when IS your birthday? :)*Anne-MC must be a pretty cool kid to think that wasn't wacky! I didn't know about dust devils, wow. That sounds really scary! We need to add soil to our back yard to help prevent flooding…sigh. Maybe one of your hunky MC's could come and help!*Angela-yeah buddy!*Jules-I hope you make landfall someplace warm and sunny and peaceful!*Hart-thanks! Enjoy Seuss week!*Jennie-LOL!!! Way to think on your feet! I love this time of year and all the mayhem 'they' create :)*Tracy-you're so right. So much has changed in the school systems and it doesn't seem fun anymore. Shame, because for many, school is the only available safe place 😦

  12. >Glad you are all right!

  13. >A day care center! You have my respect. Dr. Seuss is my favorite, I can name so many, 1 fish, 2 fish, red fish, blue fish. Horton hears a who. Love him.I'm glad your safe too and thanks for planning on buying my book.NancyN. R. Williams, The Treasures of Carmelidrium

  14. >*Alex-thanks! Me, too!*N. R.-awww, thanks. Some of his books are real tongue twisters. Funny thing…I can read his books aloud and at a fast pace. But I am no longer able to speak English like a coherent adult. Daycare side effect…And I look forward to reading it!

  15. >Whoa.. that's some scary stuff.. thank goodness everyone was safe and sound! 🙂

  16. >I didn't know about Dr Seuss's birthday! Cool!

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

