>The Bear With Two Shadows Blog Tour with Roland Yeomans Part 1

>

Hey, guess what? The fabulous Roland is doing a blog tour to promote his new e-book, The Bear With Two Shadows – and I get to play hostess! Cool!
So, put your hands together and let’s welcome our good friend, ROLAND! Woohoo!!!
*much clapping and whistling as Roland joins us*
Hey, Roland! I’m glad you could squeeze me into your crazy schedule. When I was considering what questions to ask, I decided to simply ask the ones I really wanted to know for myself.

Are you ready? Okay, first question:

So, how does it feel to see your book on Amazon’s website and know that people are buying it?
It is quite a pleasure to look at my cover with my name at the bottom.  It is a sight I have worked towards for a very long time.  And to think that people care enough to pay to read my work means more than simple words can say.

Well, we’ve all enjoyed reading your tales over the past year. You’ve created characters we’ve come to care about and it’s wonderful to finally see something of yours in cyber print. What brought about your decision to go the e-book route with your novel?
THE BEAR WITH 2 SHADOWS doesn’t fall easily into any niche.  In today’s publishing market, purchasing agents are reluctant to invest in any novel without a seemingly sure-fire return guaranteed.

That means more of what has been selling. 

In other words, the odds were that Hibbs would never see print.  Still, the legend created by my mother had contributed in saving my life in that frozen-in Detroit basement apartment.

I determined that Hibbs and his world would somehow be laid out for the world to accept or reject.  Kindle Direct Publishing seemed a way to do just that.

LORD OF THE RINGS, THE WIND IN THE WILLOWS, HARRY POTTER, even TWILIGHT were not was selling briskly when they were bought.  And because of that, they impacted the industry, creating new genres with their publication.  And THE BEAR WITH 2 SHADOWS could very well do that as well.

If I do not believe in my dream, how can I expect anyone else to?

You bring up a great point, Roland. So many of us dream of being a published writer, yet it seems to be getting more and more difficult to get an agent to want to go forward with a manuscript. Do you think that this may be the future course for aspiring writers? Get an e-book out there that becomes moderately successful so an agent will be more likely to take notice?



Funny you should ask that.  I’ve discovered that agents have recently been tweeting about author Amanda Hocking.

I haven’t read any of her kindle only books, but apparently she is nearly a millionaire just from her KINDLE only books.  So obviously an outstanding number of people have read her books … and gone back for more. 

Amazing, since she is but 26 years old with no publishing contract and selling over 100,000 books a year on amazon. Her rank on amazon is #1.

here is a link to a blog post on her if you are curious about her. 

Her staggering accomplishments suggest that there is hope for the self published authors.  She does however have an agent.  But I wonder if the agent came to her after her tremendous sales record. 

Still if Amanda Hocking has accomplished this staggering achievement, I believe each of us can find some small measure of success in the Kindle-only market as well.

Okay readers, we’re stopping with that hopeful  and encouraging thought for now. Roland works some grueling hours and needs some shut-eye. I could use a cat-nap myself. So be sure to tune in tomorrow for the rest of the interview!

Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Before you leave, you may want to take a moment and check out these books:


A pretty cool collection, don’t you think? Well, they’re more than that. They’re signed. Ummm-hmmmm. By the authors. 

Roland is offering these up in a contest. All you have to do for one entry is leave a comment. For two entries, link his book to facebook or twitter. Be sure to email Roland at rxena77@yahoo.com. If you post a legitimate review on Amazon by March 31st, you get three entries into the drawing for these fantastic books.

The drawing will be on April 1. 

Don’t forget to tune in tomorrow!

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on March 10, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. >HI, Becky, Hi, Roland,Some great questions and answers…. Well you know I have my copy already…. The signed books you are offering Roland are AMAZING…. I'd love on myself…LOLGood luck with the tour.Michael

  2. >Hi Becky and Roland .. great thoughts here .. we just have to believe we can do it .. and now there are other options than just print .. however that would be wonderful too.Your book is on my list .. cheers Hilary

  3. >Great interview! Looking forward to reading more. Congratulations, Roland!

  4. >Another great interview.Wonderful blog Becky, found you through our mutual friend Michael. Glad I stopped by!

  5. >Great interview. I read Amanda's blog. After reading it I can say that you are by far a better writer than she is, Roland. I wish you much success.NancyN. R. Williams, The Treasures of Carmelidrium, Special .99 through April 30

  6. >Wonderful interview- The questions were awesome and Roland did a fantastic job answering them!

  7. >Thanks, Becky, for being such a great hostess, asking fun questions.Michael : It's excellent seeing you here today, too. I feel better knowing you have my back. I hope you enjoy THE BEAR WITH 2 SHADOWS!Hilary : Always good to see your name in the comments. Thanks for putting my book on your list.Thanks for the congrats, Jamie!Poetic Justice : I'm glad you stopped by, too. Isn't Becky's blog great? If you visit regularly, you won't be disappointed.Nancy : I've never read Amanda, but you made my morning, saying I was the better writer. Maybe you and I can make as much money as Amanda pays out in taxes! LOL.

  8. >Great interview, with some fascinating questions and answers. 🙂

  9. >Those were excellent questions and answers. Go for the dream Roland…….dhole

  10. >Hi Becky, Hello Roland,Great interview. Good questions and answers. All the best, Roland!

  11. >Hello, Everyone! I'm glad you all have stopped by and it's nice to meet new people! *waving at Hilary and Poetic Justice*Honey fixed my glitch and I'm trying like crazy to catch up….Be sure to come back tomorrow for the second half of Roland's interview!

  12. >And what are we without our dreams, right?Go Roland!

  13. >Woo Hoo I'm glad you're back! Great interview with Roland. Hi Roland! Wonderful learning more 'bout you.Denise<3My two posts with Roland will be on Saturday 11th and Sunday 12th March! Please break your 'no blogging on the weekend' rule to join us or we'll be so lonely sitting by ourselves!

  14. >Sorry I missed this yesterday, on to catch up with today's. 🙂Jules @ Trying To Get Over The Rainbow

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

