>Hmmmmm…….

>

Okay, I know that those of us who like to write can really get into our stories and/or become attached to our characters.

Part of my process is imagining scenes and dialogue, sometimes for weeks or months, before they gel or click together in just the right way. Then, I’ll write it down. A slow process, I know, but for some parts, it’s necessary.

Anyway, one character, upon meeting the MC for the first time, asks her a question in response to her plea for his help. The question at first seems simple enough….but it’s actually quite profound. I’ve thought about her response for nearly two weeks now, and I think I’ve almost gotten it right….almost. Her answer is crucial because it will reflect her soul, who she is, what she believes, and why she follows the path and makes the choices she does. And, more than anything, I want to avoid trite, commonplace, been there-done that type answers. I want something….real. And bigger.

My question is this: have any of your characters ever asked a question of another character, or of life, that has affected you? Profoundly? Have you ever thought of your own response to the question….and found that you really had to contemplate before you could fully answer it? Has it ever made you go deep within yourself, causing you to stop and look – at yourself, your life, the world around you – and question it?

Want to share?

Just wonderin’…….

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on March 23, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. >Hello, thought I'd pop over your fab blog! And straight into a very philosophical and thoughtful piece! Crikey!! Erm.. I've not had a character that's questioned me so profoundly – which kind of makes me wonder if maybe I ought to try!I hope your character finds the perfect answer that would define her soul in your story! Take carex

  2. >I don't think they're questions so much as answers. I have one I just put in my book. A child asks a question of the heroine, and what comes out of her mouth was so profound it scared me because I wrote it.

  3. >Ooh…you are in a writing zone! Love it! I am very intrigued by this post and look forward to one day learning about your character!Nothing like this has happened for me as of yet. But I have written some powerful and emotional scenes that had me crying. I could feel my character's pain.Good luck with your response!

  4. >Hi, Becky,Never had a character ask a profound question, but I have gotten wrapped up in the character's emotion, felt his pain, and began emotionally drained.Writing my last novel took a lot emotionally out of me and now with final edits I can only do a chapter at a time. Interesting post.

  5. >That has never happened to me. Although I have made myself and others cry and laugh out loud – not at the same time. I can say that I take my characters a lot more seriously than I take myself.

  6. >In my urban fantasy, THE MOON AND SUN AS MY BRIDES, the young hero asks the insane headmaster, "Just tell me the truth!"The one-eyed headmaster jabs a thumb at his empty socket and snarls, "You want the truth? Truth costs, boy."That simple exchange becomes not so simple as the book progresses (the headmaster is actually Wotan {Odin} who gave up an eye to drink from the well of wisdom.)Interesting, thought-provoking post, Becky — Roland

  7. >if my characters asked/said anything profound, those queries/statements flew over my head… :O lol

  8. >I do it sort of backwards, I think. I have a profound thought and write it down. Then, if ever an opportunity arises to include it somewhere, I put it in. I write amusing characters, but in the undercurrent of the humor is the funhouse mirror of society. Most humor, I find, is in pointing out what a crazy species we really are.

  9. >I've had my characters ponder these types of questions, sometimes directly, sometimes indirectly. And yes, I always think of how I would answer them myself!Great post.:)

  10. >Probably not that deep, although I've had a few situations that caused me to really consider the character's response.

  11. >A few questions that I've posed in my writing have made me stop and think–but not on the scope of what you mentioned in your post. I don't think they have ever profoundly changed me.I hope you come up with just the right answer for your character!

  12. >Questions? Only in real life! Ha!

  13. >I've certainly gotten caught up with my characters. It can be quite draining at times (in a good way though).

  14. >Hmmm.. this got me thinking. But I can't recall any major issues. I guess even tho I let my characters speak to me thruout the story, I still feel in control of them, and they are, in essence, parts of me.Love the cat pic!

  15. >Interesting thought. I don't often write characters but sometimes when I have put thoughts on paper I have suprised myself with the depth and emotion of the words.

  16. >I love your site and as I browsed your blog I decided to award you the Creative Blog Award.Go to http://astorybookworld.blogspot.com/p/awards.html and pick up your award.~Deirdra

  17. >Oh yes – most definitely. I love it when that happens, although it can be slightly disturbing!

  18. >Yes, very thought provoking and I'm sure many times. Just about every post gets me to thinking about or questioning situations in my own life or of the people around me!BTW I love you writing so very much!! 🙂 Have a wonderful day and weekend!!Hugs,Coreen xoxo

  19. >I should probably do more character development with my paintings…I'm thinking I might give it a try and see what happens.Usually 'they' end up telling me what they're 'up to'…

  20. >Oh my gosh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Blogger ate my responses!!!!!!!!!!!!!!I'll try to retype it all again in a few minutes. Kitties want some food and I have to walk away from the computer so I don't hurt it, lol!

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

