>B is for BILBO BAGGINS

>

Bilbo Baggins is one of my favorite hobbits. (My absolute favorite is Pippin – and he was not the incompetent fool Peter Jackson made him out to be!)

He was adventurous, brave, clever, insightful, and generous.

Elrond had a high regard for Bilbo, as did all of the elves, and Aragorn considered him a friend.

He translated and recorded many elvish tales and songs, and pieces of his own works became part of Aragorn’s identity.

And Bilbo, alone, in the whole of Middle Earth’s history, was able to relinquish the One Ring of his own accord. 

That’s something!

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on April 1, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 66 Comments.

  1. >Well Done, defending Bilbo~

  2. >Ah, I remember him. I loved reading about him back in high school. Thanks for this cute post!♥.•*¨ A-Z buddy ¨*•.♥

  3. >I liked LOTR, and Bilbo is a very crucial characater. Way to go for B!

  4. >I loved The Hobbit much more than The Lord of the Rings. I actually cried at the end. :O)

  5. >I love Bilbo, too. Great B word.

  6. >Love Bilbo!!! New follower! :o)

  7. >YAAAH!! I love the Lord of The Rings Trilogy and I especially love Bilbo!!

  8. >Hi Words Crafter .. love your 'B' for Bilbo – I hate to admit I haven't read the books, or seen the film .. really must correct my knowledge! We were sent The Hobbit by my grandmother when I was just a teenager .. Love this post – thanks .. Hilary

  9. >Lovely post, great **B** !Thanks for stopping by my blog and for your sweet comment :-))Doriswww.doris-socialworker.blogspot.com

  10. >Lovely P you have here….the movies never did any of the characters justice.

  11. >HiI also have to confess not having read the books or seen the films BUT Bilbo Baggins is a name I instantly recognise, and I can picture the character, even though I know so little of the setting … Just goes to show his appeal .. A worthy B :-)All bestKarla

  12. >I'll have to try The Hobbit. I started to read LOTR and couldn't get through it. That said, I instantly recognized Bilbo's name. 🙂

  13. >Oh I love Bilbo. The Hobbit is my fave story from childhood. I did a book report on it in the fourth grade. I still love it way more than LOTR. But I'm a LOTR geek too. Let's see how Jackson does with the film… I'm guessing it's gonna be amazing.

  14. >IT just goes to show WC, that even in the 'bad' there is good if we look hard enough 🙂

  15. >I've never read the book but I can't wait to see Martin Freeman as Bilbo in the movie adaptation. I will definitely read the book before seeing the movie, though. Thanks for following my blog! Nice to meet you! 🙂

  16. >You just gave me a great idea to write about some favorite characters during the A-Z Challenge. Thanks! 🙂 I love Bilbo Baggins too! (I'm a bit ashamed to admit, I've only ready The Hobbit and not the rest of the Rings series)

  17. >Very cute! You remind me to share the hobbits with my boys 🙂

  18. >Ah, Bilbo. Poor guy. Good thing there are folks like you willing to take up his defense. RosieEast for Green Eyes

  19. >Love this stroy as a kid. And the movies as an adult. And we had an Irish bar called Bilbo Baggins we would frequesnt to throw darts, eat awesome burgers, and have a few beers. Best pub in the world!

  20. >Bilbo Baggins AND Artemis Fowl? I had to join in!

  21. >Thanks so much for stopping by my place yesterday and for your lovely comment.I'm looking forward to reading more from you!Happy (Rainy) Saturday!Lana D.soberchronicfabulous.blogspot.com

  22. >Three cheers for Bilbo!

  23. >Good pick for B. I really do have to read The Hobbit. This time all the way through. I started it when I was young lost the book and never finished.My literary life is lacking :(Pamela Johttp://theresjustlifeyaliveit.blogspot.com

  24. >Love Love Love LOTR. My entire family wants to build a house just like Bilbo's

  25. >Great Post!! Love Bilbo!!Sig

  26. >Bilbo rocks and I, too love Pippin. And yes, he was far from being a fool as he was made in the LOTR films. Great post!

  27. >Bilbo is a stud–because he left his comfort zone for a great adventure. (= We had the animated version of The Hobbit when I was a kid. (=

  28. >Bilbo is a great character! 😀

  29. >You got it. Bilbo is awesome!

  30. >Bilbo is about as unselfish a hero as they come. I could live w/o the cartoon version though…just not what I had in my head as I read the books.

  31. >Did you ever see Leonard Nimoy and his Bilbo Baggins song? It's a hoot!http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XC73PHdQX04

  32. >Yay for Bilbo! You know, his NAME is the only way I coaxed my daughter into listening to the story. Any more adventures move so fast that kids have short attention spans, but the hobbit is a GREAT story.

  33. >You make a good case. Happy A to Zing,Lucy

  34. >Gotta love hobbits! I think they still exist today because I'm pretty sure my dog is a hobbit in disguise. Happy A-Z Blogging!

  35. >I still have the soundtrack to that Baskin-Robbins movie featured in the photo! On a double-record set of course…

  36. >Good old Bilbo! I love the LOTR series.

  37. >I love Bilbo, and you're right, I didn't even think of it, but he did give the ring to Frodo.NancyN. R. Williams, The Treasures of Carmelidrium.

  38. >Bilbo nice picture of a beloved character

  39. >Love Bilbo and love the illustrations.Denise<3

  40. >The Hobbit! I KNEW I really, really, really liked you. Bravo Bilbo! Bravo!I read these books while giving birth. Well, actually, not while, but after. Excellent post. You rock!

  41. >You can learn all that there is to know about them in a month, and yet after a hundred years, they can still surprise you." — J.R.R. TolkienGREAT post! Proud to be your latest follower. 🙂 =]V[=

  42. >a gooder, b :)but ya missed 'blarney stone' :O lol

  43. >I enjoy all the hobbits, but Bilbo is my favorite. Prehaps because although he found the ring, he was able to give it up.

  44. >I'm so happy to see so many Bilbo fans! A pub called Bilbo Baggins, how cool!I have seen the video of Leonard Nimoy singing the Bilbo song. Wow.A dog/hobbit…that I'd like to see :)Never thought of listening to it, duh!I would love to have Bilbo's house from the movie and I'm not a fan of the cartoon. I just liked the picture. Bilbo is uber cool, but I never thought of him as a stud. I have to think about that for a while, lol. It's been a blast so far and you know I'm gonna cheat and visit more blogs tomorrow, right? Howdy to all my new followers. I hope you like it here 🙂

  45. >I'm soon to read The Hobbit for the first time. I know, I can't believe I never got around to it either.Cute post.Wagging Tales – Blog for Writers

  46. >Good "B" entry.Contrary to my usual practice of subscribing to comments, to save time during challenge I will not be doing so during April. If you want to respond to my comment , please email me directly from your email notification for the comment. Thanks.LeeTossing It OutTwitter hashtag: #atozchallenge

  47. >PS – just notice your comment on my blog that you've read Unwind. Brilliant. Just a perfect example of a dystopian novel. There needs to be a club 😉

  48. >Oooo, you're so right. It's time for me to reread The Hobbit. It's been a very long time.Loved this post ~ that rebel, Olivia

  49. >Well done. I'm a follower now. 🙂

  50. >Bilbo is definitely my favourite hobbit.I'm with you on Peter Jackson and Pippin.I enjoyed the movies but some of the decisions they made about characterisation sucked!

  51. >Lord Of The Rings is probably my favourite book, and Pippin my favourite Hobbit.Thanks for visiting my blog. Nice to meet you.

  52. >Bilbo – what an excellent choice for B. Your point is well taken. Bilbo was the only one to relinquish the Ring without external pressure.As I said, an excellent choice.I liked you A-list post also.

  53. >I am a big Lord of The Rings fan and I read the hobbit so many times I lost count. Yay for Bilbow! Love him too. Thank you so much for following my blog.

  54. >Relinquishing the ring of his own accord is HUGE. Great post!Alison Pearce Stevens

  55. >Thanks for stopping by everyone! I hope you enjoy your 'day off' and do something fun 🙂

  56. >…a childhood fave. Ten years old, behind my closed bedroom door. The curtains pulled, desk lamp lighting my way. A half-empty glass of Tang next to my elbow and long forgotten. And my face buried in pages…experiencing the once simple life of a hobbit named Bilbo.Great post;)EL

  57. >I love Bilbo too! My favorite Hobbit was Samwise, but I love Hobbits in general. :)Great post!

  58. >And, plus, what a fuuun name!!

  59. >What a fun choice for B – Bilbo. Hope you are enjoying the challenge as much as I am so far.

  60. >Loved reading about Bilbo!

  61. >Loved reading about Bilbo!

  62. >Bilbo is one of my favourite hobbits too! 🙂

  63. >And he had a man's appetite! Seven meals a day — I bow to Bilbo.

  64. >One of my all-time favorite literary characters!!! Love the blog!

  65. >Bilbo was so much cooler than Frodo. I was mad when I finished the hobbit and picked up LOTR and that little up start was the main character.

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

