>D is for DIARY – My Very First One

>

In the process of leaving a comment Saturday, I realized I had to re-do my post for the letter D.

Let me begin at the beginning…..

To say that I have had trust issues is like saying Krakatoa went bang.

That meant that I could never, EVER have a diary when I was growing up.

As a result, I had no place to voice my thoughts, fears, doubts, or ponderings….

In my adult life, I’m happy to say that I learned to trust more, albeit selectively. But I still never kept a diary. Or even a journal.

That changed, though, in Feb. of 2010. I began this blog. In the afore mentioned comment, I wrote that we use our blogs to voice our hopes, fears, and failures. We write about our lives, our struggles, our doubts and even the lighter things that thankfully occur. We share our experiences and wisdom, and the cock-eyed humor we’ve gained along the way.

Blogs are like diaries that way. It’s a sort of safe place for us to express ourselves to whatever degree we feel comfortable with. And we even let others take a peek. Lots of others. And…we get to peek at theirs, too.

Is it because we don’t usually see each other face to face that we feel so uninhibited? For whatever reason, most of us fearlessly put ourselves ‘out there’ on a regular basis, whether it’s with random postings about our personal lives or excerpts from our works in progress (which is just as personal).

It’s for this reason that I don’t have a themed blog. I began this as a kind of diary and I’d like to keep it that way. I do, however, want to always make sure it’s varied, interesting, funny, thoughtful, and a fun/safe place to visit.

Because you’re peeking.

And instead of freaking out about it, I’m actually touched that you’re here πŸ™‚

BTW, do you like my shiny new lol? Made it myself!

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on April 4, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 27 Comments.

  1. >And we are glad you share your world with us!

  2. >I had trust issues over my diary too. But then my diary was broken into and read and it resulted in me getting grounded. That is why I write stories….could hide my doings in my characters. What a clever little missy I was!!!

  3. >*Alex-awwww, you're so sweet :)*Ann-hmmmmm, makes me want to read your diary!!!

  4. >LOVE your LOL! It's perfect. I never kept a diary or journaled either. I don't know if I had trust issues. Perhaps. And now look at us. You show me yours and I show you mine.

  5. >*Carol-ha! That about sums it up πŸ˜›

  6. >one of the reasons i love reading your blog is your honesty… makes me want to know you better and i feel like i found a friend. keep writing from the heart, because you touch mine. xoxo

  7. >*Carla-sometimes I wonder if I'm too honest. But thanks! I'm all warm and fuzzy now πŸ™‚ And right back at you, too!!!

  8. >When we were organizing the garage a few weeks ago, I found my very first diary – from the fifth grade. Oh, the entries were beyond comical. A good day? Watching Barbara Mandrell and the Mandrell sisters after getting to sit next to Cherie during choir and having Jason hold my hand on the bus on the way home. Yeah, I don't think you were missing out not having a diary growing up. This blog is so much better! πŸ˜‰

  9. >aaahhh … that pic and caption is so cute πŸ™‚ Loved your frank and entertaining post (as always). Mention of Diaries always reminds me of the line from The Importance of Being earnest : I never travel without my diary. One should always have something sensational to read in the train …Sadly, if I kept a diary, I doubt sensational would come into it!Thanks and all bestKarla

  10. >Yay!! D for Diary!!!! I think blogging is such a great thing – for me it's an escape from reality into frivolity (mainly) and a chance to be silly!Did you do that kitty lol?? Is that what you mean?? It's so cute!!!!Take carex

  11. >I loved journaling until my mom read it. I felt so violated, I stopped writing altogether for, oh, 18 years. I just recently rediscovered the joy of writing. Sometimes I write in a journal, other times on my blog. And I love that you're sharing your thoughts with us! πŸ™‚

  12. >I've kept diaries my whole life, and I've always been scared someone will read them. For some reason, I feel freer on my blog than I ever did in my written journals. I guess it was just different when I was the only audience.

  13. >Very glad that you chose to share that diary with us! I remember feeling the same way about diaries and trust issues when I grew up, so I wrote some of mine in code, or I crafted elaborate locks for them, or I hid them very carefully. Not that it mattered much – my sisters were much too old to care about my drama, and my parents aren't really the nosy type. But I still don't advertise my current diary (blog) to any of them… I suppose it's a different thing to spill your heart out to strangers (or at least people you don't meet face to face on a daily basis) than to do so in front of people you already know.

  14. >good stuff, b… unfortunately too many folk think it's safe to post all thoughts/feelings/activities on fb… stupid!never post anywhere, online or off, you don't want to appear on the front page of your local newspaper! GRRRRRat the least, it WILL affect your current/future job!

  15. >Never kept a diary, but ALWAYS wished I had. I guess a blog is a sort of one though. So I have kept one. Great! :-)Love your shiny lol. You rock! :0)

  16. >Thanks for sharing.I used to write in a journal as a teen. Now I have volumes of embarrassing angsty drivel. Haha!

  17. >I struggled with similar issues. Now all I have to do is remember that there are people who know me who read my blog as well. It's not totally anonymous.Nice to "meet" you thru the a-z challenge.Karen

  18. >I journal occasionally . . . I'll remember to do it or feel inspired every couple of months; really should do it more often, although the whole idea of privacy sometimes sets me on edge, too.I love the LOL. πŸ˜€

  19. >Of course I'm peeking. You're an interesting person.

  20. >Peeking is always fun!And having a blog that is varied, with unpredictable topics is even more fun!Sig

  21. >Peeking is always fun!And having a blog that is varied, with unpredictable topics is even more fun!Sig

  22. >I'm sorry you weren't safe to have a diary when you were younger.I never thought of blog as a diary, but it is. We're preserving a certain period of our lives, with stories and emotions. Glad you have your diary now.

  23. >It's so nice to know you feel safe sharing some of yourself with us. I'm happy to meet you here on A to Z.

  24. >Okay, I'm old…either that or I was drunk.I was already here today.

  25. >You're totally right! A blog is very similar to a diary. I never looked at it that way! Great post! Now following.

  26. >From not trusting a lockable diary to blogging…that's amazing progress πŸ™‚ So glad you want to share your world with us.

  27. >I lol'd at your lol πŸ˜› I was very much the same; I never wrote a diary in case ANYONE ever got a hold of it (ahh, teenage paranoia, hehe). I did start a non themed blog a few years back with the intention of posting about whatever, but it quickly fell to the ground. Personally, having a theme gives me more of a reason to post.

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

