>E is for EDGAR Allan Poe

>

I remember being in elementary school and reading some of Edgar Allen Poe’s stories. They terrified me and thrilled me at the same time.

It wasn’t until high school that I learned to appreciate the themes he wove into his works. Tragedy, betrayal, loss, decay of the body and the spirit, guilt, and so many more.

Some of my favorites are The Tell-Tale Heart, The Fall of the House of Usher, Annabel Lee, The Black Cat, The Cask of Amontillado, and, of course, The Raven.

Barnes & Noble has a book with all his works in it. It’s on my wish list because there are so many of his short stories and poems I haven’t read.

I always think of him as a haunted and tragic person who, in turn, has haunted the rest of the world like no one else…..

As you may, or may not, know, since 1949, a visitor has left either cognac and roses or notes on Poe’s grave. Every year on January 19th.

Last year, 2010, the visitor didn’t show.

Wouldn’t it be wonderful if we writers manage to touch people’s lives enough to cause them to remember us….in some fashion?

both photos from google.com

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on April 5, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 29 Comments.

  1. >…whether he knows it or not, Edgar earned himself a rather tidy role in the novel, "Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter." Long story short, Edgar and Abe meet up in New Orleans…share war stories over numerous drinks in a bar until sunrise. I'm curious if he'll be included in the upcoming movie release. We can only hope:)Love the cognac story:)EL

  2. >*Elliot-ah, man! Another book I need to add to my ever growing tbr list! Sounds cool, though πŸ™‚ Found the story through google.

  3. >E already, yikes! I've gotta move faster. I must have missed your C?? Don't worry, I'll look after I finish panicking.Love Edgar Allen Poe and have to teach him to my Yr 11s. Oooh, Annabelle Lee, chilling and killing. Great choice for E!Denise<3Thanks for travelling with me.L'Aussies Travel Blog A – Z Challenge – D is for Darfur

  4. >I am saddened to learn the mystery person didn't show up in 2010. Sixty years! I wonder will someone else take up the baton.

  5. >Wanderer, have you ever listened to Alan Parsons Project, "Tales of Mystery and Imagination" which is based on some of the works of EAP? One of my favorite albums, ever.

  6. >I love Poe! I did follow the story of the mystery visitor. Fascinating!

  7. >You are a day ahead of my e- post- it will be up at 6am, but I couldn't resist Poe this evening! I adore the raven. I have his complete works and even my daughter (9yrs old) has gotten into reading him.

  8. >Edgar Allen Poe is one of my favorites. I love to read his stuff out loud… to feel the words he so skillfully picked.

  9. >I have that book you're wishing for. I bought it for one of my son's a few years ago. I've only read a few of the stories. Tell Heart, Usher and Raven. Disturbing and fantastic.have a good day Becky……..dhole

  10. >As weird as this makes me sound, I love old grave stones, Edgar's is a very nice one! And I love your kitty photo!Judy (South Africa)

  11. >Haha! That's so weird, I just posted a poem of Edgar Allan Poe's for the letter E :-)There's a paranormal young adult novel that came out last year, NEVERMORE by Kelly Creagh, that is based on the work of Edgar Allan Poe. That was the first time I read any of his writing.

  12. >Wow. That is so interesting about the mystery person leaving cognac at Edgar Allen Poe's headstone and then not turning up last year. That is so so so so so intriguing. I love that!!! Thank you for this homage to a fantastic writer and this really fab info on the mystery visitor to his grave. I love how artists touch and influence my life on a daily basis. I love the thought of art transcending all to reach souls. Take carex

  13. >Love Edgar Allen Poe, always have. My dad bought me a collection of his stories when I was about twelve. I really have to dig it out.The grave visitor story is awesome. Wonder if anyone, like was mentioned above, will take up the legacy.

  14. >I love Poe, have a book of poems an old book. What a thought provoker he was. πŸ™‚Jules @ Trying To Get Over The Rainbow

  15. >Wonder why he didn't show up last year!Not read much of Poe- not my kind of writing 😦

  16. >I've not read any of Poe – think I may have to rectify that asap – I'm off to the library. Loved the story of the graveside… that's a real goosebumps moment!Lx

  17. >I have been to his grave (though not last year!), wandered the island where he wrote "The Gold Bug", visited his home in Richmond, VA. And, I think, have read most of his work. I love Poe!! Thanks for the pleasant reminder.Best,Bonnie

  18. >Even his name is dark and sombre, somehow …. Everything of Poe's that I've ever read has stuck in my mind (the mark of a good'un!). Spooky about the graveside visitor – there's a story there, somewhere, worthy of the man himself. In different circumstances, of course! Many thanks for the post, and the info.All bestKarla

  19. >Ohhh, I also thought he was really creepy. I haven't read anything from him since. Even opening your blog and seeing his photo gave me the willies….

  20. >The only Poe I've known is from The Simpsons (when James Earl Jones narrated The Raven). It was awesome, but I need to get my hands on some more Poe πŸ™‚

  21. >I've always loved Poe (including the Simpsons episode, like Jamie mentioned above!), and loved his grave visitor, even though the idea of it creeped me out a bit. Then again, so did Poe, so it's fitting! I was sad when it stopped. It seemed like a cool tradition to carry on. I wonder if everyone was like "Oh, someone else will do it" or if something happened to the person who had been doing it all along…- allison writes

  22. >I love Edgar Allan Poe. I did not know about the mysterious visitor though. Wonderful post thanks for sharing this. =)http://tigeronmybookshelf.blogspot.com/

  23. >I haven'tread him much…After Raven found him too stark and gloomy for me….I read less poetry compared to fiction… Sad about the absent visitor….nice to be able to touch someone's life like that, long after one is gone….liked the post a lot.

  24. >One of my favorite authors! I stopped by from the "A to Z" challenge and I look forward to reading more from you.

  25. >I don't think I have read any of his books. They sound marvelous. I do love his little curls at the side. hehe And your pussycat! πŸ™‚

  26. >I grew up in Baltimore, so I've been to the grave when I was a kid. Poe is deliciously creepy.

  27. >I have been a fan of Edgar Allan Poe since high school, I think I have read most of his works. After all these years it is sad that the visitor is no longer visiting the grave. From what I have read there was a secret sign between the visitor and the rector of the church so no one else will be able to claim the role.

  28. >Poe, my favorite poet/writer/everything. I knew the visitor must have passed on or been sick, because of the no-show. Yes, I want to touch lives like that. I want to bring kids into the wonderful world of reading through my writing like he did. :-)Excellent post, Becky.

  29. >I also adore Edgar Allan Poe.I didn't know the story about the visitor to his grave. Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚Brianna @ Pocketful of Playdough

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

