>PLEASE………

>

Hahahaha, no. I’m NOT pole dancing. Although I could probably make a considerable amount of $$$ from people paying me to stop, lol!!!

Ahem. Friends, I’ve come to a difficult decision. Do you believe in signs? I do. Eventually.

For all kinds of reasons, I believe it’s time for me to put up or shut up with my writing. My nano novel has been gathering dust since the first of December. My first, and favorite wip, is struggling to be born.

In the fall, I will have to sharply curtail my blogging and any writing I’m doing because of the class I’ll (hopefully) be taking. I’ve heard everyone say it’s pretty intense. But it’s science. I like science, so I’m optimistic.

All that said, I’ve decided that I need to really really for real, focus on my writing. It’s hard for me to quit something. Like this challenge, for example. But I have to. My goal is to have two completed rough drafts before classes start in August. Rough drafts that can be sent out for critiquing.

And I really believe this is the right decision because today, I re-wrote the beginning of the nano novel, and it’s pretty good. At least according to some of my co-workers. And they’re passionate readers. And as I was preparing dinner, another kink worked itself out with the first wip.

I feel that to keep the writing on the back burner would be a mistake. I’d miss this opening window.

I hope all of you will understand. I’ll be around on the weekends. Some. It’s pretty impossible for me to stay completely away.

So, that’s basically it for now. Until Saturday or Sunday. Take care, have fun, look for me when you least expect it πŸ™‚

About CuriousCat

I love to learn new things-anything from how to create a junk journal to the way light moves through space; why cats present their behinds to us to the effects of chemicals on our endocrine system. If it interests me, I can spend hours reading and learning about it.

Posted on April 18, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. >The writing should always come first. We'll miss you, but good for you!

  2. >Best of luck with your writing. I hope you achieve your goals and taking a step back from blogging is definitely the way to do it.Hugs,Lyn

  3. >We understand. The writing is what's the most important. We'll be here. The class sounds exciting. And your WIP. Get it completed. πŸ™‚ Miss you. ❀

  4. >Totally understand, Becky.I for one will miss you, but writing is important. I might do the same after the challenge. As much as I adore blogging it is consuming SO much of my writing time.Have a wonderful week and I hope to see you on the weekend.Michael

  5. >Like Michael, I will miss you. But bottom-line : we are writers. Anything that gets in the way of putting our dream down on paper must go. Good musing, Roland

  6. >Writing comes first :)e-mail me any time you need to vent, brag, or need encouragement………dhole

  7. >*waves bye bye* πŸ™‚

  8. >Go for it. Enjoy yourelf. We'll still be here when you come back.

  9. >I agree – you mustn't jeopardise your writing, especially with the course coming up. Good luck and enjoy some well-earned nano and wip time :-)Karla

  10. >LOL!! I love that pole dancing kitty! LOL!!Yay for Signs and Windows of Opportunities!!You GO for it!!!!! Good luck, enjoy your novel, write like the wind and see you soon!!Take carex

  11. >yeah, whip those wips, b… every writer understands the sacrifices required….

  12. >Just do what you need to do. Writing should always come first. We'll always be around.Sorry I didn't get back to you about Friday. A lot of craziness happened here, is still happening. My life is not my own.

  13. >You go for it! Follow your bliss!

  14. >I'm behind you 100%. Blogging is supposed to be an extension of our writing, but it should never replace it. Especially knowing that there will come a time when it will be difficult to write regularly, I think you're smart to take advantage of the time while you have it.So glad to hear you're working on your NaNo.When I first blogged, I posted nearly daily. Over time, I realized I'd have more readers of individual posts if I slowed down. Then I went to 3 posts per week. After I got the full-time job, I went down to 2. Now that my job is over, I'm staying with 2 unless something pressing must be posted.This A to Z Challenge seems to be difficult for a lot of bloggers. And it's difficult for me not participating because I know that some of my favorite bloggers are posting almost everyday, but I can't keep up. Most posts are good because they come from the heart, not a letter.

  15. >I absolutely understand – writing must come first. You have to give it your all and blogging can be a time-wasting distraction.I wish you the best of luck with your writing and I'll be back at the weekends!Ellie Garratt

  16. >Yep, I absolutely beleive in signs and you need to follow your heart where it leads…we all will be here upon your return and welcome you back with open arms.In the meantime, my friend, if you need a beta reader, or a shoulder, my door is always open; just come knocking!You know where to find me :)Good Luck and let those creative juices flow!

  17. >I'm still chuckling at the pole dancing kitty! Gotta love those lol-cats. I do beleive in signs – so understand how you feel. We'll all still be here. You go and make that WIP of yours happen! πŸ™‚

  18. >Good decision!Although I'll miss seeing you around.

  19. >Best of luck and well done for being decisive. It actually sounds like we've both come to similar conclusions at a similar time. Writing comes first!

  20. >Thanks everyone, for being so understanding and supportive. You guys are the BEST πŸ™‚

  21. >If readers are enjoying your manuscript then you're off to a great start! Keep on writing & wishing you the best for your book to be! πŸ™‚

  22. >Way to prioritize–do what you gotta do! (= Best of luck!

  23. >Oh crap! Your blog is my featured R blog for Thursday!!!!

  24. >Good for you, Becky- writing has to come before the blogging about writing IMO otherwise what's the point?!?LOVE the cat picture, it just about had me in an asthma fit I laughed so hard. Needed that today- thank you!xoxobru

It is not necessary to fill in any of the information under the comment box!!!

